National Office 205 Placer Court Toronto, Ontario M2H 3H9



Bureau national 205 Placer Court Toronto (Ontario) M2H 3H9

Jerry Dias National President Président national Renaud Gagné Quebec Director Directeur québécois Robert J. Orr National Secretary-Treasurer Secrétaire-trésorier national

March 29, 2018

To All Local Unions

Sisters and Brothers,

I wanted to raise an important development and victory as it relates to our ongoing issues with the labour movement (CLC).

As you all by now know, Unifor has taken issue with two local unions being put in to trusteeship by their U.S based unions for the purposes of quelling the dissent of workers. Unifor has taken the position that trusteeship of a local union does have its place in our structure, but it should not be used to silence the democratic rights of workers wanting to change unions.

Yesterday, in the Ontario budget, a change in the Labour Relations Act was introduced by the Liberal government that address the changes Unifor has being calling for.

• Amendments to the Labour Relations Act. The LRA will be amended to extend an existing provision that limits the imposition of a trusteeship (or any other interference that affects a union's autonomy) by a parent trade union over its local union where there isn't 'just cause'. The current provision only applies to the construction industry; it will now extend to all unions covered by the LRA.

Despite this change happening only in Ontario, Unifor believes this sets the stage to have these types of rights enshrined directly in to the Constitution of the CLC as we have been asserting in our ongoing discussions.

This is a significant achievement for our Union and certainly moves us closer to a process for workers, that respects their democratic rights.

We continue to have discussions with the CLC about the terms in which Unifor would affiliate again, as set out by our National Executive Board.

In Solidarity,

1 Dias

Jerry Dias, National President.

JD:lmc/cope-343

cc: National Executive Board, Bob Orr, Renaud Gagné, John Caluori, Serge Dupont, Jenny Ahn, Scott Doherty, Shane Wark, Deb Tveit, Chris MacDonald, Katha Fortier, Joie Warnock, Lana Payne, Naureen Rizvi, Unifor Staff