National Office 115 Gordon Baker Road Toronto, ON M2H 0A8



Lana Payne

National President

Présidente nationale

Bureau National 115 chemin Gordon Baker Toronto (Ontario) M2H 0A8

Daniel Cloutier

Directeur québécois

Quebec Director

Len Poirier National Secretary-Treasurer Secrétaire-trésorier national

November 4, 2022

SENT VIA EMAIL

The Honourable Doug Ford, M.P.P. Premier of Ontario premier@ontario.ca

Dear Premier Ford,

Re: Keeping Students in Class Act, 2022

The extraordinary action your government has taken, through the *Keeping Students in Class Act, 2022*, to deny CUPE members their constitutional right to strike, but also deny their right to free and fair collective bargaining, is an egregious and needless assault on trade union freedoms.

Unifor's 40,000 unionized autoworkers have a long, proud history in Ontario – securing good, family-supporting, community-building jobs through collective bargaining and, when necessary, by exercising our right to strike.

Premier Ford, this legislation is excessive, imprudent and unfair. The invocation of Section 33 of the Charter (the notwithstanding clause), in this circumstance, goes beyond the bounds of what is fair and reasonable in a democratic society. It ignores the history of challenging, but ultimately constructive labour relations that has benefitted this province. We demand that your government rescind this legislation, immediately.

Your government is setting a dangerous precedent, and our members will not stand idle as you undermine the most fundamental rights.

We issue this notice that Unifor's Auto and Independent Parts Supplier Councils, in coordination with affiliate local unions, will be exploring all options in the coming days to respond to these actions. We stand in solidarity with CUPE members.

Sincerely,

John D'Agnolo Chair, Unifor Auto Council President, Unifor Local 200

Emile Nabbout Chair, Unifor IPS Council President, Unifor Local 195

cc. The Honourable Minster Stephen Lecce, The Honourable Minister Fedeli, Steve Majer (Ford Motor Company Canada), Jacqueline Oliva (FCA Canada), Ritu Chatterjee (GM Canada), Laura Walton, Fred Hahn, Lana Payne, Len Poirier, Naureen Rizvi, Shane Wark, Dino Chiodo, Paul Shiels, Jason Gale, James Stewart.

/klcope343